Skip to content

{post aus meiner küche // very berry}

June 29, 2012

remember the last time i participated in post aus meiner küche {mail from my kitchen}? yes, i gave macarons a go… and i loved them {as did my counterpart} and i loved what the postman brought me… so here we go again. ring in round no. 2. the theme is very berry. perfect for this season, don’t you think?

there were too many ideas in this little head of mine… and i couldn’t decide which one to make so i made all three but since the lovely ladies of rosa & limone are 2 i guess that’s okay. have a look at their site: totally sweet!

the main thing and the actual idea was to make lollipops. the first time i saw the recipe on martha stewart i knew i HAD to make them. but forget this as soon as you read this. it was a disaster. the first batch {the martha recipe} turned out ok, but those lollipops broke when i tried to get them out of the molds. so then i tried another recipe, well, that’s when disaster stroke… i burned the mixture, ruined a pot and burned myself as well.

but since i try to be positive, my new life motto, i made those other 2 things i had in mind. here they are. hope you like them tanja & daniela…

the syrup is a recipe by amazing paul lowe of sweet paul and the sweet macaroons are adapted from one of my fave food blogs smitten kitchen.

the blueberry & lime sirup – the ingredients
makes about 750ml {but this is pure guesswork}

  • 560 g fresh blueberries
  • 240 ml water
  • 225 g sugar
  • 2 tbsp lime juice

the how to…
1. place blueberries and water in a pot and bring to a boil.
2. let mixture simmer for 15 minutes. let cool slightly.
3. pour into a fine mesh sieve and let drain over a large bowl.
4. stir so that you will get all the juice from the berries. get rid of the pulp.
5. put drained juice, sugar and lime juice in a pot, stir and bring to a boil.
6. let mixture simmer for 5 minutes.
7. place in a bottle and let cool.
8. serve with soda and ice or other things nice.
keeps for ca. 1 week when chilled.

the macaroons – the ingredients
makes approx. 50

  • 400 g sweetened, flaked coconut
  • 130 g granulated sugar
  • 3 large egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp table salt*
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 90 g fresh raspberries
  • 80 g fresh red currants

the how to…
1. preheat oven to 160°C. line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.
2. blend the coconut in a food processor for a minute. add sugar & blend another minute.
3. add egg whites, salt and almond extract and blend for another minute.
4. now add raspberries and red currants and pulse machine on and off in short intervals until they are largely, but not completely, broken down.
5. when you open the machine, you’ll see some parts of the batter that are still fully white while others are fully pink. try to not stirring them together.
6. scoop a little of the pink and the white batter together and place them on the tray {they don’t spread to much, so you can put them fairly close together}
7. bake cookies for 25 to 30 minutes, until they look a little toasted on top. let them rest on the tray for 10 minutes after baking. they’ll firm up as they cool.

enjoy, xo.

* yeah… what can i say? i forgot the salt…

31 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2012 8:53 am

    yeah, Helene!!!!! Hammerfotos. Die Bilder sind grandios, die Verpackung mit den Labels und die Ideen. So ein Fläschlein brauch ich auch, unbediiiiiiiiingt. Lecker!!!!!
    Knutsch Dich, morgen: erster Workshop in Kölle <3

    J

    • June 29, 2012 7:22 pm

      daaaaaaanke Jeanny!!! so ein fläschchen bring ich dir gern zum ‘shoot the food’ in hamburch mit, ehrensache ;-)
      knutsch dich zurück und ganz viel spaß morgen!
      ♥♥♥
      H

  2. kris permalink
    June 29, 2012 8:53 am

    Yet again your posts are just gorgeous. I am going to try both of those recipes they look very yummy. Thanks for sharing x

  3. June 29, 2012 9:06 am

    Looks AMAZING :) Yummy!

  4. June 29, 2012 9:32 am

    wunderwunderwunderhübsch!
    bin gerade ganz verknallt in die farbkombi und schwer begeistert von deinem foodstyletalent.
    liebsten gruß,
    dani

    • June 29, 2012 7:26 pm

      ohhhh, ich werd ganz rot liebe Dani! vielen lieben dank, freut mich sehr, dass es dir gefällt. einen schönen tag noch und a lovely weekend, xx Helene

  5. June 29, 2012 10:01 am

    Großartig! So feine Ideen und so schön gemacht. Herrlich. Love it!

  6. June 29, 2012 11:34 am

    Was für ein toller Beitrag und natürlich ein wunder-, wunderschönes Päckchen, das wir von Dir erhalten haben! Wir haben uns sooooo darüber gefreut und ganz arg lieb von Dir, dass Du alles in doppelter Ausführung gemacht hast.
    Habe einen schönen Tag und viele liebe Grüsse
    rosa & limone

    • June 29, 2012 7:30 pm

      hallo ihr zwei, ich bin soooooooo erleichtert/glücklich/aus dem häuschen, dass es euch gefallen/gemundet hat. es war soooooooooo schön mit euch! und wer weiss, vielleicht lernen wir uns doch noch mal ‘live’ kennen. das mit der doppelten ausführung ist übrigens ehrensache ;-)
      die allerliebsten grüßchen an euch, xoxo {auch doppelt}, helene

  7. Fraeulein A Punkt permalink
    June 29, 2012 5:09 pm

    Oh my!!! That looks wonderful but I bet it’s a ton of work, you had.
    But if the outcome looks so great, I bet everything was worth it, right?

  8. June 29, 2012 7:37 pm

    juchz.. das sieht wunderbar aus!! Hätte ich auch sofort genommen.. wie schön, das Du die super Rosa & Limone Kombi hattest…. Jeanny, RIke und ich werden uns beim nächsten mal gegenseitig überliste, um Deine Tauschpartnerin zu werden… Übrigens… ich würd auch soein Fläschchen nehmen ;-)
    Hab ein tolles Wochenende und viel Spass mit den Shoot the Food Gööörlz!!
    Alles Liebe
    Claretta

    • June 29, 2012 7:42 pm

      ohhhhhhhhhhhhh danke, ich glaub ich lauf den ganzen tag noch mit rotem köpfchen rum… jaaaaaa, ich hab mich sehr über die zwei gefreut :-) tolle tauschpartner. hey und ich hätt nichts gegen euch damen von der post ;-) wenn du am 1.09. in hamburg bist, dann kriegste auch so’n fläschen. na?
      dir auch ein tolles {hoffentlich regenfreies} wochenende liebe Claretta, xx.

  9. June 29, 2012 8:00 pm

    Hi H.,

    since I´ve already tasted one of your syrups, I am sure, this is reaaaaaaaallllllyy good!
    And of course, as always, the pics are really beautiful, I can nearly taste the red currants ;-) Just love them.
    Could use one or two of the “lecker” macaroons :-)
    Have a great, beautiful, and veeeeeery lecker Weekend, honey!

    • June 29, 2012 8:19 pm

      my sweet miss glasgefluester, thaaaaaaaaank you soooooo much. haha, the macaroons are all gone by today ;-) but i will make them again and then you are the first to get 1 or 2 or 3 or… have a lovely weekend yourself, big big hugs my dear!

  10. June 30, 2012 6:07 pm

    hmmmm, sieht das lecker aus bei dir. tolle biler und ich bin mir sicher, dein tauschpartner hat sich very berry gefreut.

    lieben gruss
    anja

  11. Nessi permalink
    July 14, 2012 4:26 pm

    Das sieht alles so wunderhübsch und lecker aus, werde die Rezepte auf jedenfall (in meiner kleinen engen mini-Studentenküche ohne Spülmaschine) ausprobieren:) ich freu mich schon richtig auf das erste Naschen bei der Herstellung:) Und eine Frage brennt mir noch auf der Seele die ich loswerden muss… immer wenn ich all die wundervollen blogs lese und mich an den noch wundervolleren Fotos mit schönen Sachen drauf erfreue, dann frage ich mich immer wieder, wie man solche hübschen, zuckersüßen Etiketten zaubert. Ich vermute mal wild drauf los: mit PC und Drucker…aber ich kenne kein Programm mit dem das so schön funktioniert:( Hilfe! Denn ich liebe es selbstgemachte Dinge zu verschenken, und so ein schönes Etikett wertet die Verpackung noch um einiges auf finde ich…
    Liebe Grüße und weiter so mit diesem wundervollen Blog!
    Nessi

    • July 14, 2012 8:19 pm

      vielen lieben dank Nessi!!! gib mir doch bescheid wie es dir gemundet hat und ob alles nach plan lief. das find ich immer spanned. :-) ich bearbeite die photos immer mit photoshop und layoute mit illustrator. kleiner tip: wenn du noch studentin bist, gibt es eine student version, ansonsten sind die programme relativ teuer. ich wünsch dir noch ein tolles wochenende, freue mich, wenn du mal wieder reinschaust und kommentierst… liebste grüße, Helene

  12. July 17, 2012 11:58 am

    Hach ist das wunderschön!

    Liebe Grüße,

    Isabelle

  13. July 17, 2012 11:58 am

    Und auch nochmal von mir: GROSSES WOWiE!

  14. September 2, 2012 7:05 am

    Gorgeous post, Helen. I love everything about this – the recipes, the styling, the photography!

Trackbacks

  1. Post aus Helenes Küche: Unser Päckchen | rosaundlimone

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 138 other followers

